Chicken Divan

Standard

This is one of those recipes that is so easy, yet makes you look like a fabulous cook. This version of chicken divan was one of first dishes my girlfriend cooked for me 25 years ago and I knew then I had to marry her. Here we are 24 years later, still enjoying the same recipe!

Speaking of the recipe, this one is handwritten, from my favorite mother-in-law. I know, I know – she is my only mother-in-law, but that is beside the point. Regardless – this chicken divan is awesome. Sorry – no pictures, everyone was too busy eating to think of cameras.

Ingredients:

4 crowns of fresh broccoli, roughly chopped.

3 – 4 good sized, boneless, skinless chicken breasts, baked, cooled and cubed.

1 can Cream of Chicken soup. Don’t add water or heat it up; you just need the condensed soup.

1/2 cup of sour cream

1 Tablespoon of lemon juice

1 Teaspoon of soy sauce

1/2 Teaspoon of minced garlic

(for the topping)

2 cups of plain bread crumbs

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 stick of butter (8 Tablespoons) melted

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a 8 x 12 glass baking dish, spread the chopped broccoli out evenly, forming the bottom layer.

In a large bowl, mix the chicken bits, cream of chicken soup (straight from the can) as well as the sour cream, lemon juice, soy sauce and garlic. Spread the mixture over the broccoli.

In another bowl, mix the plain bread crumbs with the grated Parmesan cheese. Add the melted butter and mix well. Spread this on top of the chicken mixture. This is the topping!

Since the chicken is already cooked, you can heat this in your 350 degree oven for 20 minutes, then reduce heat to 170 degrees, covering with foil until you are ready to serve!

Makes 6 big servings or 8 normal servings. Guess which I prefer?

Pairs well with a nice glass of Joy Red ’08 from Cross Keys Vineyard.

Buen Provecho!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Divan

    • D.J. Lutz

      Thanks! Congrats on your anniversary, too! Looks like my recipe is a variation of the “quick and easy” version on the link you provided. Chicken divan (or “Divine Chicken” as my son calls it) is one of my all-time favorites.

Leave a comment