Turnip Greens with a Twist

With a twist of lemon juice, that is.

This past weekend I helped out our church bazaar by standing post at the fresh vegetable stand. We had sweet potatoes, hayman potatoes, kale, collards, apples, homemade vegetable beef soup and…turnip greens? This iconic Southern US side dish was one I had not ever used in a recipe or tasted on a plate. As for greens, I prefer collards with a little vinegar. Spinach is okay but I find it is usually over cooked to the point of being seaweed-like green mush. Not much mouth appeal, in spite of what Popeye may have us believe.

Back to the turnip greens. These were fresh cut, bright green and only a dollar a pound. So I thought, why not?

Turnip Greens

I asked around and everyone, and I do mean everyone said “Turnip greens? Just put a ham hock in a pot of water and bring to a boil, then add the greens until they wilt.”  I imagine this would not take too much time. Put me in a pot of boiling water and I bet I wilt quickly, too. That said, and remember – I live with vegetarians – I knew I had to find a different, bacon-less recipe.

Aha! Check it out here. This article gives you more health and nutrition facts about turnip greens than I thought possible. Huzzah for healthy eats, people!

Anyway, so I added my own little spin on the usage of the greens – and I will say it turned out okay. Not great, but for what is essentially a bunch of bitter leaves, it wasn’t bad. You try it and be your own judge. It’s only a dollar, at least at our stand.

Ingredients:

1 cup of turnip greens, the leaves only, torn from the stems and ripped into small, bite-sized pieces.

1 English muffin, halved and toasted

1 egg, scrambled (or however you like it cooked)

Dressing:

3 Tablespoons of olive oil

1 Tablespoon of lemon juice (see, I told you there was a twist!)

1 Tablespoon minced garlic

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large pot, add 1 – 2 inches of water and place over high heat. You will be using this to steam the greens.

While the water is heating up, make the dressing by mixing the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and salt/pepper in a small bowl, stirring with a fork.

Now put the English muffin halves into your handy toaster and start toasting to your favorite shade of burned light brown.

The water in the pot should be steaming now. Carefully (remember that steam can burn you very easily. I know.) add the turnip greens to a large strainer and place over the top of the pot.

Steaming the Greens

Now, in your best egg pan, cook your eggs however you like. I prefer scrambled eggs, but you may be a sunny-side up person. To each their own.

Once the eggs are done, the turnip greens will be ready to go. Now all you have to do is assemble the dish.

Starting from the bottom, here is how I layered everything:

English muffin (bottom)

Drizzle some dressing on the muffin

Add the steamed turnip greens

Drizzle a little more dressing (the bite of the lemon juice with the pungent power of the garlic will help belay the bitterness of the greens.)

Add the scrambled egg for protein and creaminess.

Drizzle just a bit more dressing on for good measure.

And top with the other English muffin half.

Eggs on muffin and greens

There you go – protein, calcium, vitamins galore, good for you fats, and some nice tasting food.

Like I said, for me this was okay. I think the next time I make this sandwich, I will add bacon. All those church ladies can’t be wrong!

Even Tink the cat liked it!

Tink

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

