43 Types of Garlic? Now we’re cooking!

Garlic 1I don’t care what the people at Taco Bueno say, my Aunt Sue is okay in my book. She sent me a care package the other day, a box with two brown paper lunch bags inside. While I enjoy a decent peanut butter and jelly sandwich as much as the next guy, I was not disappointed when I peeked inside.

Garlic!

A sampler pack of 10 varieties, sequestered in their own little individual-sized brown paper sacks and accompanied by a small slip of paper identifying the type of bulb. The notes also had a few lines about the taste, cooking suggestions and other nifty tidbits.  Where did my aunt acquire such bags of goodness?

Why, she’s a member of a “Garlic CSA,” of course.

Now stand down, ye Johnny Rebs, I am not referring to the Confederate States of America. No, this CSA stands for “Community Supported Agriculture.” A very cool agri-business model where people, regular people like you, buy a portion of a small farm’s crop in advance. In other words, you pay the farmer $100 up front and at the end of the growing season, you get at least $100 worth of crop. Some farms offer a number of different products, others specialize, for example Garlic!

No huge agriculture / industrial corporations needed. Just plain old, organically grown food – hold the pesticide.

My aunt belongs to the Dyer Family Organic Farm’s garlic CSA, a family owned and operated Michigan farm that is planting 43 varieties garlic this year (yes, 43.) You can learn more about Dyer’s by checking out their website here. All sorts of info and tips about garlic on this site: storage, planting, recipes, everything but the vampire stories. I am thinking garlic tomatillo salsa. Christmas is coming, people at work. Guess what you’re getting!

The really best part? One of the variety is called “Transylvania.”

Oh, the stories I will write…

photo 2

3 responses to this post.

  1. what an interesting picture

    Reply

    • Imagine my surprise when I opened up a plain box to find two plain brown paper bags, filled with smaller plain brown paper bags – filled with ten varieties of garlic. I had no idea there was something besides the garlic at the grocery store. I have such a cool aunt!

      Reply

  2. Have fun with your garlic – there is more where that came from (next year)! We enjoy sharing our love of garlic – we sell a little bit of fun and lots of flavor. 🙂
    The Dyer Family Organic Farm in Ann Arbor, MIchigan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

