It looked good on paper…

English: Bow section of tanker SS Pendleton gr...

Years ago, I traveled to Central America each summer, and our flight would always seem to land in Belize as the first stop. If possible, I tried to sit on the right side of the plane. Why, you ask? Because I knew that just off to the right, less than a mile from the start of the runway, I would be able to see at least two planes, or – at least the tail sections – sticking up out of the forest. These planes had crashed and were left there for all to see. I asked someone why they were never removed and the answer was a simple one. “They are like ships who ignored the lighthouse, serving as a warning to all pilots that the landing isn’t over until you stop at the other end of the runway, so pay attention.”

So I had this thought (I know, I know) that I could make an easy, quick and tasty version of pigs-in-a-blanket gone wild. Think about it. Get some hot dogs, some salsa, and one of those tubes of ready-to-bake pizza crust and put it all together and bake it. What could go wrong?

I couldn’t even bring myself to take a picture, to serve as a warning that the recipe isn’t over until people eat it and enjoy it. I didn’t pay attention, I guess.

The problems were evident right away. I had made my own salsa (black beans, corn, diced tomatoes, cayenne pepper, cumin and fresh cilantro, cooked over medium heat until boiling, then cooled) and that seemed okay. Except that I didn’t wait long enough, apparently, and the semi-hot salsa, when drizzled on the uncooked pizza dough, caused the dough to melt down and become unmanageable. I did get one dough “rectangle” wrapped around a hot dog and some salsa, but it wasn’t pretty.

So I bake it, along with some salsa-less pigs in a blanket.

At this point, I am thinking “maybe” on the salsa dog in dough, and “probably” in the regular dogs in dough.

Like the crashed planes in the jungles of Belize, these pigs in blankets fell short. The hot dog was fine. The salsa melded with the dough, which was not fine.

Perhaps using a tube of croissants would be better, but I still don’t think the salsa would work.

Oh well, it looked good on paper…

Pay attention.

Belize.

One response to this post.

  1. I don’t like calzones for the same reason–it makes the dough gooey!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

