Who writes this stuff anyway?

Hey there. I’m just an average guy.  I have a family, a job, two puppies and a hectic life. You know, you have one, too.  There is never enough time, there certainly is never enough money, and sometimes I just have to throw some shredded cheese on the Tostitos, add some refried beans and yellow corn, nuke ’em for a minute and then call it dinner.

I do watch the Food Network.  I do read recipes (and sometimes follow them.)  At times, my cooking is amazing.  Other times, not so much.  I do what I can.  No one has starved and we are all healthy.

Why “Exploding Potatoes?”  Well, dinner tonight started out great.  I had slow cooked a turkey and it turned out very tasty.  I threw some potatoes in the oven – gotta have something for all that gravy, right?  An hour later, the barking dogs alerted me to the disaster in the oven.  One of the potatoes had, yes fans, exploded.  Probably should have stabbed the spuds with a fork.  Next time.

The turkey was a hit.  I’ll put  my recipe in an upcoming post.  Simple and not labor intensive…just make sure you watch those taters!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah on November 18, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    Doug,

    I’m so happy that I stumbled upon your blog via the Foodie Blogroll! I just moved away from Hampton Roads a couple of months ago, and miss it like crazy. Your recipes are great so far – keep up the good work!

    Sarah

    Reply

    • Posted by doug87 on November 20, 2009 at 3:35 am

      I have been in and out of the Hampton Roads area for the past twenty years (military service, like many here.) Retired a few years back and liked the area so much we stayed. I try to spotlight local and regional farmers when I can, they deserve more credit than they usually get.
      Thanks for reading, too!

      Reply

  2. Great blog name, that has totally happened to me too! It was a pretty loud “boom”.

    Reply

    • Posted by doug87 on November 20, 2009 at 3:30 am

      Even the puppies looked up when the two spuds blew. What a mess! So much for that college degree…not too smart I am. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

