Crock Pot Crazy Cajun Rice

Aidells Italian Style sausages at Costco on El...

Image via Wikipedia

How ya’ll are? I started out trying to make a jambalaya in the old slow cooker, but you know, sometimes it just doesn’t work out the way you planned. But that’s okay, the food still tasted great. I just had to change the name. (Sorry, no photo this time, can’t find the camera and the iPhone 4s has yet to be ordered…)

Try my Crock Pot Crazy Cajun Rice next time it looks like snow outside. It’ll warm you up!

Prep time: 20 minutes.  Cooking time: 4 hours

In a large crock pot, put in the following:

1  – 2 pounds of boneless chicken breast (free range, hormone free), cut into 1 inch cube-chunks.

1 and a half pounds of Aidells Cajun style andouille sausage*, chopped

28 oz. diced tomatoes. I used a large can, but you can use fresh if you want.

1 medium onion, chopped

8 oz okra, chopped (frozen is okay if it is out of season)

2 celery stalks, chopped

1 Tablespoon dried oregano

1 Tablespoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

32 oz. MSG free, low sodium free range chicken broth

Stir the ingredients with your wooden spoon, then cover and cook on low for about 3 hours.

Uncover the pot and stir the mixture. Now add:

4 cups of uncooked, jasmine rice.

Stir in the rice, then recover the pot. Cook on low for an hour. That should be enough time for the rice to cook and absorb the flavors of the spices. If the rice isn’t quite done, keep cooking, but you may have to add some water or chicken broth if it has become too dry.

Stir once more before serving.

Makes 8 good sized servings.

* I don’t normally specify brands, however Aidells’ products are all natural. NO MSG. NO NITRATES and NO ADDED HORMONES. Try ‘em. Remember, I don’t get anything from brands I mention. See the disclaimer post if you have questions.

Happy eating!

 

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. I may give this a go over the weekend it sounds great. 8 good sized servings would be a lot for us to get through, any idea if this freezes well for later consumption?

    Reply

    • Posted by D.J. Lutz on December 9, 2011 at 6:31 pm

      I don’t think it will freeze well as written. Here is what I would do, and I just might do this next time anyway:

      Make everything except the rice. Now, separately, make enough rice for the occasion. Ladle the chicken/sausage mixture on top of the rice, then freeze the remaining mixture. You could even break it down into freezable servings. For example, if there are typically two of you at dinner, and you use one ladle of meat mixture per person, freeze the remainder in containers that hold just two ladle’s worth. That way, you can take out one container every time you want the crazy rice. Much easier than trying to thaw and reheat a big container.

      Oh yes, I am thinking of reducing the recipe down to three cups of rice, if that means anything.

      And of course, Thanks for stopping by! Let me know how it goes. It is a new recipe for me and I am still tweaking it and love feedback.

      Reply

      • My worry with freezing would be that if the rice is cooked separately it may not benefit from the full flavors the dish has to offer. I does sound tasty, I might try this Sunday and I will off course let you know how I get on. I am enjoying your blog but it is making me hungry!!!

      • Posted by D.J. Lutz on December 9, 2011 at 9:35 pm

        Easy fix. Cook the rice separately, then spoon into a baking dish. Add some of the meat mixture and stir. Cover and place in an oven set to warm. Let the flavor steep for about 20 minutes or so. This way you get just what you need for dinner, the full flavors integrated into the rice, and you can still freeze the leftover meat/veggies.

  2. [...] Crock Pot Crazy Cajun Rice (explodingpotatoes.wordpress.com) [...]

    Reply

  3. I may be making this today myself. I am off of work all week and I need a great dish to put in the crock pot. Merry Christmas!

    Reply

    • Posted by D.J. Lutz on December 18, 2011 at 3:08 pm

      Speaking from experience, keep an eye on the rice. If it cooks too long in the crock pot, it starts to stick to the sides! And like anything spicy, the flavors come out more the next day. Enjoy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

